Streetman Receives Florida Citrus Packers’ Highest Honor

Daniel CooperAwards, Citrus, Industry News Release

David Millwood, George Streetman, Quentin Roe and Peter Chaires

Florida Citrus Packers honored George H. Streetman with its John T. Lesley Award for Excellence at Packinghouse Day. The John T. Lesley Award is the organization’s highest recognition, reserved for individuals making sustained and outstanding contributions to Florida’s fresh citrus industry. The list of recipients reads like a “who’s who” of the Florida citrus industry.

George Streetman

Streetman served as president of Florida Citrus Packers, as a member of the Indian River Citrus League and New Varieties Development & Management Corp. boards of directors, and chaired the Citrus Administrative Committee, overseeing a federal marketing order for fresh Florida citrus. He served on the Florida Citrus Commission, including as 2010-11 chairman.

Streetman received the Legends of the River award in 2015. He has long been respected for his professionalism and effective leadership style, but perhaps equally as important, for his love of industry, willingness to serve and gracious nature. His leadership extended to the regulatory arena as well as numerous bank boards. He was awarded the “Hammer Award” by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, which was presented by Al Gore.

Source: Florida Citrus Packers